Becoming The Man in the Arena.

Brené Brown is a researcher, author, and public speaker.  She’s done quite a body of research on Vulnerability, Creativity and Shame. She’s very popular.  I can see why.  I like how she shares her research.  Her keynotes and methods of sharing feel really  authentic.  She’s honest about her struggles and her process. I like that she sees a therapist.  I like that she includes her therapist in her work and creative process. She’s present in her approach and thinking. It makes me feel like anything is possible for me.

I often visit Brené’s work and keynote videos when I’m feeling overwhelmed or discouraged.  (Yeah, in my mind, I can totally call her Brené – cause we’re friends in my mind. Anywhosie, enough about me and my imaginary friends.)

Click the link below.  It’s a twenty minute commitment but it is excellent. Brené Brown is funny and smart. This keynote is definitely worth your time.

Did you watch it?  If not, go back.   It’s ok, I’ll wait.  🙂

Particularly, I was struck by the quote that she shared.  I thought I’d share it with you.

The quote/passage is often called ‘The Man in the Arena’.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

-Theodore Roosevelt,  ‘Citizenship in a Republic Speech’ delivered at the Sorbonne on April 12, 1910.

It really resonates with me.

I am daring greatly.  I am the man in the arena.

Why don't you just tell me what you're really thinking?

